Why become a member? ×

E-Bay Horror Stories (Or humourous Ones!)

bassatnight

Folks,

I have just put a couple of basses on E-Bay and have been inundated with stupid and in some cases incredible questions from potential buyers already. I have put a few of them below for your entertainment put have obviously removed the names etc - can anyone else top them!?

[i]HI,

I am seeing your bass on Web and want it. I have £150 I know that is lower than your starting cost but I am quite poor and like basses I think it is good to help poor people can I have your bass for that cost or lower please/?[/i]

[i]Hey,

I am new to E-bay can I reserve your bass as I get paid next week and will hopefully have the money then?[/i]

[i]Hi,

What is the reserve price? (I had 7 messages asking this)[/i]

[i]Hey,

I live near you can you call me?[/i]

I could put more up but I am still laughing/crying over these ones!

Steve.

The reserve price is a tricky one as telling potential bidders may cause them not to bid at all and thus not knock the price up a bit but I do generally tell them. [quote name='OldGit' post='695453' date='Dec 29 2009, 10:51 AM']Some of those remind me of the begging adverts in Private Eye "trouble paying child's school fees. Please sent £50" etc ..

Incidentally I often ask the reserve and always tell people if they ask. I don't see the problem.[/quote]

[quote name='vmaxblues' post='695458' date='Dec 29 2009, 10:55 AM']This one tickled me in a description...

[i]fretless jazz bass mex, useing in my indy band got to sell to play off student det[/i]

If I was him I would be asking for my money back![/quote]

:rolleyes: :lol: :lol:

...unless of course English isn't his first language :)

Just had a very irate person calling me the rudest person he has ever dealt with on E-bay in 10 years (He has only had an account for 4 years!)