Why become a member? ×

Tokai Thunderbirds vs Epiphone Thunderbirds - Opinions Please?

lukertweek

Hi guys,
I'm a relative newbie to bass, some of you may have seen my posts before. Anyway, I am looking to buy a Thunderbird. I don't have enough dosh to stump for a Gibson or of course I would. So I am looking at the alternatives and the two that crop up are the Tokai and the Epiphone (unless you guys know of any others worth considering in that sort of price bracket).

So any guidance you all could offer would be very gratefully appreciated. Also if any one here is selling or thinking of selling their T-Bird please let me know. I have no qualms about buying used.
Thanks in advance.
Luker

[quote name='ezbass' post='606732' date='Sep 23 2009, 04:26 PM']Haven't had one, but given that the Tokais are proper T Bird construction, and that they build good guitars generally, I reckon the Tokai T'Bird would be best IMO.[/quote]

The current TB48's don't have the proper T Bird-construction. They have an alder body and a one piece maple set neck instead of the 9-piece laminated mahogany and walnut neck. But they're nice basses and they definitely have the looks and sound cool.

Edited by LeftyJ

I had a Tokai T/bird up for sale here a while back but nobody wanted it, so stuck it on ebay and it sold ok. the humbuckers on it were pretty loud and sounded good. there's the neck dive but that didn't bother me, i just did not like the feel of it., if your going for a Thunderbird i would recommend the Tokai.

I've owned 2 Epiphone ones and both were seriously good basses. Tokai make great stuff and I've often wondered about their T-birds. The reality is that I am not really a T-bird kind of bass player (just a fan from the sidelines). If the quality of Epi T-basses is as good in 2009 as it was in 2004 I reckon you can't go wrong with either.