Why become a member? ×

Home recording

niceguyhomer

I'm pretty disenchanted with bands and at the moment and I'm weighing up my options for the best way forward to pursue / sustain my musical interests. I still love playing my bass but don't know if I can be arsed with playing live any more.

Anyway, I've just been to a friend's house and he demo'd his Apple Mac (white laptop) with the recordings he'd done using Logic and Garage Band and I was really really impressed.

It really got my juices flowing again - cos, as well as playing bass, I'm a competent guitarist and with a decent drum machine I could have some real fun making my own music.

I don't know if I will go down this route but if I do, what's the options? Mac / Logic / Garage Band or is there an alternative I should consider?

I should say that it needs to be fairly straightforward to use - I'm thick and lazy :)

[quote name='BigRedX' post='520040' date='Jun 21 2009, 04:36 PM']Buy a Mac. Garageband come free with it, and is a great way to get started with home recording. If, as you develop, you find it becomes too limiting then Logic is a sensible upgrade and a complete steal at around £300.[/quote]

Or Logic Express which is even cheaper- especially from eBay (£75 ish?)

Garage Band is the sensible starting point though. Keeps it simple- nothing like technical problems to stifle any creative flow!!

Either way, have fun! :)

[quote name='MythSte' post='520046' date='Jun 21 2009, 04:42 PM']Oh, and if you have a decent spec PC just download and give reaper a whirl before you spend too much on a mac, might quench your thirst without draining your wallet[/quote]
+1 for Reaper, excellent product, free evaluation. You can buy a printed manual too.

Edited by sdgrsr400