Why become a member? ×

Help! Best amp solution for a small studio

lucamusic

Hi all

i am a producer looking to get a small amp for a small studio (5 x 4 meters) 

its decently treated . Im a guitarist (sorry:) but i like to have a real amp to to practice with / play some linea while arranging and possibly record through it. Loudness is not necessarily a problem here but there is no nees to be too loud … it will always be just one person playing / no drums to compete with . Mostly do mainstream music , pop rock dance funk etc. 

budget would be around £500 happy with second hand . In fact i had a look online and so far ive found ampeg b100r , ampeg b200r, mark ass mini cmd 115, markbass 200w speaker (what preamp would i need) , acoustic 126 amp, mark bass alain caron super combok1 (this one streches to 800euros but probably over kill)
happy to go to a local shop also but i have zero experience on bass amps so please give me some advices. 
i have a p bass copy at the moment , looking to get a jazz too. 
thanks a lot!!!

In the size of room you have and with the requirements - no drums to compete with, etc - you describe, 100W should be perfectly adequate unless you want to shake the walls. Just about any decent quality combo rated at 100W or more with a 10" or 12" speaker would be fine. If you plan to record through it, an onboard DI would be useful if you want to capture the sound of the amp itself (although an external DI box would work for this if the amp has a preamp out).

In your shoes, I'd visit a few local shops, try things out to find out what you like and then look for it second-hand.

You may not need an amp. An emulator pedal or preamp with a number of presets direct to the board will be more versatile. One of the most prolific bass players of all time, James Jamerson, was always recorded direct at Motown. He had an Ampeg B-15, but that was only for monitoring.

Edited by Bill Fitzmaurice
  • Like 3