Why become a member? ×

From DB to (fretless) e-bass

Hi experts,

playing double bass, I'd like to add electric bass guitar.

The idea is to have the best of two worlds: The dark voluminous sound of the DB and the edgier, more percussive sound of the electric bass.

Also, I'd like to have a fretless fingerboard, as I am used to the DB fingerboard.

Long scale, therefore, is my choice.

Does all this sound contradictory to you?

Has anybody gone this road?

Looking forward to your ideas.

bn

Never heard of anyone ordering up a super long scale fretless bass guitar to play with DB strings and DB fingerings. I don't think the ergonomics would be at all good. Try DB in your lap on the couch and I think you will get the idea out of your head.

I play both DB and FB with custom fingerings born of being self taught. FB is easy enough to use regular BG fingerings if you want to get jiggy wid it or just keep flying around using your DB fingering.

Scale length is easy to adopt. I realised this when I found a 21" ubass fretless to be quite natural to me.

• Like 1

IMG_6565.thumb.jpeg.1b594756a346fede86c855fdddeaf326.jpeg

I’m a predominantly electric player - some fretless and I’ve got a fretless Jazz bass which gets close - but I want something to move air in front of a microphone like a double bass would.

This gets close - work in progress though…

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, Downunderwonder said:

The Precision Bass was a game changer. Then bassists wanted to change the game back to have cake and eat cake by nixing the frets. Best just pick up a fretless and play it. 

I had one of these for a bit…much preferred my jazz fretless; I also managed to get a better DB impression from it.

Seems counter intuitive…but 🤷🏻‍♂️

IMG_6639.jpeg

• Like 2

You're actually describing the Takamine TB10. This is essentially a crossover instrument (an EB with a DB radius) that you can play as an upright bass and as an electric one. They're not cheap, but they are cool.