Left leaderboard
Ronald Bigsworth

Advice Required on a 62 Jazz

Hi, my Dad left me his prized Jazz when he died over 10 years ago. Apparently it’s a 62 year but is not in its original state. 

Its been resprayed & doesn’t have the original finger plates. I’ve also been told it needs a refret but I’m hesitant in case it devalues it or screws it up.

Is there anyone in the UK who restores them or can offer any advice ? 

Many thanks in advance. 

71FF6AA5-8EDC-4CA0-891C-5BB27D591064.jpeg

3ADCB766-4C32-47DA-B9D3-49B4A2D303DB.jpeg

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

Just my opinion of course, but if my dad had left me that, and it was playable, I would leave it exactly as it is 🙂

Btw, , welcome Ronald 

Edited by Reggaebass
  • Like 4

Welcome Ron.

I agree with Reggaebass.  What you have is a certain amount of mojo.  While a refret is okay to keep it playable, it might be wisest to leave as is if you want to preserve its value.

You've come to the right place for pointers.  I am no expert but there are a good few here in the know, as it were.

• Like 1

Hi Ronald,

Welcome to the club. 

I'm with @Reggaebass. Preserve what you need to be able to play it, but cherish the memories of what your dad has passed on to you!!

Best of luck.

• Thanks 1

It's very nice and for me the family connection would make up for it being refinished as it's part of your story.

That serial number suggest 1963 (which is close enough).

https://www.guitarinsite.nl/serienummers-fender_eng.php

An original scratchplate would have a lot more screws, you could ask someone to add these.

If the neck is original and has the correct marks on it (when removed)  it would be OK to get them to put on the Fender decals that were probably removed during the refin.

It's rare for a bass to really need a full refret, a good luthier can probably sort it with a fret dress.

• Like 2

30 minutes ago, BlueMoon said:

cherish the memories of what your dad has passed on to you!!