Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

A London Quandary...

timloudon

This is a particularly difficult one for me to resolve on my own, and I thought asking the bass community for there advice and words of wisdom would be the best idea.

I'm currently up in sunny Leeds, studying at the Leeds College of Music. I'm now in my third year, and graduation looms (although not after a stint of hard work).

I'm undecided about whether to stay in Leeds, or move down to London.

I'd be developing a bass playing career in either place, having already developed some good skills though the years, and made a good deal of friends who are doing similar things.

The real question is, do I need to move to London to put myself in a place of opportunity (as well as tough competition)?

Advice would be gratefully received...

Agree with Jakesbass 100% Whilst it's all changed in the UK in recent years with respect to where good stuff comes from ( you can list top recording and live bands from all over these days, Manchester, Newcastle, Birmingham, and I believe Muse are Torbay in Devon based) the thing is, you need to get your face in the opportunity frame and I think London is the place to do that. Yes there's competition but it's where you'll make contacts in my opinion.

Best of luck with whatever you decide. Nice to come across someone who's planning to make a career in bassplaying. Think most people just drift into it by default. It must mean you're focussed.

I guess it depends on which direction you want to go in.