Why become a member? ×

Advice on changing from Markbass to TC Electronic...

lastanthem88

Hi all, I've been gigging with a markbass combo cmd102p for about 5 years now. It's awesome, light, and I generally love the sounds I can get from it.

If at all possible, I'd like to go even smaller and lighter than the Markbass... and I've seen the TC electronic combo, the RS210C.

Every time we gig, I'm D'ID into our Pa (QSC gear) so really the amp becomes my on stage monitor. We play weddings generally, anything from 100 - 300 people.

Could anybody advise me on...

1) How the amps compare in terms of sound?
2) How the amps compare weight wise? (mega important to me, gigging two or three times a week every week, dragging big heavy
amps about is my pet hate!)

Thanks to anyone who helps!

There's lighter gear out there. A barefaced, lightweight cab and a class D head would fit the bill. I have a 1st generation compact and a class D Ashdown MiBass head. I can put the head in my gig bag, with my bass, and walk to the gig. I have a GK MB500 on the way, which is even lighter than the Ashdown.

Those TC Electronic cabs/combos are not particularly lightweight. Although they do have their own wheels and a handle. I had a TC Classic 450, which I wasn't a big fan of. The thing I specifically disliked about it was that the low mid control was particularly ineffective (ie it didn't seem to have much of an effect on the sound). Low mid gives definition and punch and that's what I thought the head lacked. In the end I sold it and bought the Ashdown, which had a low mid control that actually worked.

Edited by gjones

If you like your sound already but want a smaller box, why don't you try the Markbass CMD121P? You still have the option of adding an extension cab if you need the extra ooomph, with the NY121 which itself is very small and light.