Why become a member? ×

Hello from Marion, Arkansas

fretlessguy

I bring you greetings from Marion, Arkansas, USA.

I have been playing bass off and on now for 30 years. I have, as you can guess from my log in name, do enjoy playing fretless basses and love that "mwah" sound they make. However, as of late, I play fretted bass more.

My occupation is that of a primary school teacher, where I teach 3rd grade (8 and 9 year olds). I am married, and have a 4 year old daughter who is very inquisitive and eyes my basses and other instruments too much, so I bought her her own bass (ukelele) and hand drums so as to leave mine alone. :)

My main band as far as recording is Carroll, Covington, and Wyatt, which is Christian music played in the folk style of say Peter, Paul, an Mary or The Kingston Trio. We have recently finished our debut CD, "Songs From "Yesterday", a collection of tradtional hymns ("Be Thou my Vision" / "When I Survey", etc.) and played on electric bass and guitar as well as traditional acoustic stringed instruments, and hand drums. We will not be playing in support of it until our lead singer finishes her studies at the local university in 2009. I also play live with a Southern Gospel band known locally as "The Messengers". At 48 years of age, I am the youngster of that particular group. Everyone else is over 60.

Besides bass, I also play (or play at) African hand drums, Irish bouzouki, acoustic and tenor guitars, octave and tenor mandolas. I also enjoy recording in my small home studio. On Sundays during church services I can be found in the sound booth pushing buttons and moving sliders.

Besides Christian music, I am a fan of progressive rock such as YES or Emerson, Lake & Palmer. I also listen to classical music as well.
I am looking forward to the exchanging of ideas. Please be patient with me if I do not pick up on some of the slang immediately.