Why become a member? ×

crazy concept bass

Ou7shined

We're off on a 10 date UK tour in a couple of weeks and I thought I'd build something eye-catching to take along. :happy:

I'm going to attempt a spot of relief carving.... which is something I've never done before. I don't have specific tools for this so I'm just gonna see what I can get out of my Dremel.

Got a big chuck of Utile earmarked for the job.

As it's just a bit of a laugh I'm not going high end with this build and I'm just going to use the odds and sods I have lying around - although knowing me this could all change the more involved I get into the project. For convenience sake I'm thinking of possibly using a pre-built lefty neck I've had knocking about as representation of the bass' [i]sinister[/i] nature... but I have a few 2nd hand factory made necks to choose from and might even go for 2x2 head (I even tried headless but it reeeeally didn't suit it :D). Got this horrid looking, mega chunky 70's through body bridge (Hondo I think) that I can't see going in anything else - it looks suitably evil for the job though.

Although I've used a P pup in the drawings I have decided to go for obliquely angled J pups in a series humbucker configuration - I have a Status 4000 pup and a stray Bart, both suitably dark, looking for a home. Not planning to go over board on the controls and may just go straight to the jack. I have however found a wee EMG PA2 preamp booster circuit doing nowt in my parts box which may find it's way into the Goat in case I need to pull any face-melters.

Oh and there will be one last switch.... for the flashing red LED eyes. :D

As for paint I dunno, maybe a sort of black and gold distressed bronze look. Who knows.

The sketch...

the development...

the drawing...

Let the games begin. :)

Edited by Ou7shined

[quote name='AttitudeCastle' timestamp='1379770449' post='2216609']
Well I NEED to see this one before you leave! ;)
[/quote]

Deal :)