Why become a member? ×

5 String Technique - Help Please

Tankdave

I'm still a bit new to this "B-String" thing, so please be gentle with me. I have a question about the right-hand technique.

First I'll explain how I play a 4-string. I rest my thumb on the E-string and rather automatically, my thumb moves to rest on a pick-up when I need to play the E.

With my 5-string, I now rest the thumb in the B-string unless I'm playing it, so same technique, just a different string OK.

So the issue then... I'm noticing "open E-string" noise now and then, "obviously" because I don't have my thumb resting on it, keeping the sucker quiet.

Do I just modify my technique, so that I still rest my thumb on the E-string? this way the side of the thumb also mutes the B? or am I missing a trick or two here?

Cheers

This is potentially a bit of a minefield, and no doubt there are recognised techniques for left as well as right hand damping, but personally, I just move my thumb onto the E when I'm playing the A, D or G, and even up to the D on occasion, but whatever works for you, obviously. The string spacing of your chosen 5 will play some part in this too, I reckon, as well as the size of your hands - I play a Lakland DJ5 with wide spacing, but then again I have hands like shovels.

I assume you're well over the hurdle of mistaking the B for an E... when I got my first five 20 years ago, I made the mistake of taking it onstage for a big gig at Alexandra Palace. The first number was in E, and I hit a huge, trouser-flapping B. Didn't go down well!

I think you basically have it, I use the B as a rest and move to using the E as a rest when playing higher strings but ensure my thumb nail is also muting the B. on pieces that require quick movement over the EADG I have a fairly good left hand to cover muting on this stuff as Lowreg above.

Looking at your description, it might just be a simple case of looking at using either a moveable anchor or floating thumb technique.