Why become a member? ×

Fingerstyle speed

newbass1000

I've been practising 16th notes at about 100bpm for about 2 months now, yet I Can't go any faster,
It's sluggishly boring and I really don't know how I'm going to get up to my target of 16ths at 160bpm,
Just wondering if there's anything to make the process a little less tedious,
Thanks.

Turn your bass up, then use a lighter touch and play closer to the bridge.
Some of the above may work.
Are you grouping these 4 x 4 in a bar. I tend to say Mississippe to myself to keep track = Mis-sis-sip-pee, Mis-sis-sip-pee, Mis-sis-sip-pee, Mis-sis-sip-pee,

Ya I'm Mad, but an old MD gave me that and it stuck :)

[quote name='Doddy' post='1249731' date='May 29 2011, 10:26 PM']Just take it steady and practice the semiquavers accurately.Speed will develop naturally.[/quote]

+ 1 to this

Also (when practicing to build speed), try to alternate your playing and resting, rather than playing solid all the time... just to help your accuracy (and stop you from doing any strain/damage). Then gradually build up to playing solid at speed.

For example, instead of playing a full bar of 16ths (bold [1] being the first beat of the crochet), like this;

[b]1[/b]-2-3-4-[b]1[/b]-2-3-4-[b]1[/b]-2-3-4-[b]1[/b]-2-3-4

Try playing like this;

[b]1[/b]-2-3-4-[b]R-E-S-T[/b]-[b]1[/b]-2-3-4-[b]R-E-S-T[/b]

Edited by skej21

[quote name='ChTBoner' post='1249718' date='May 29 2011, 10:13 PM']160 bpm? wow... I mean... That playing 4th notes at 640 pm... :)

What kind music do you play that require such a speed!

How did you arrive at 100bpm? and how fast do you try to say you can't do it?[/quote]

Lol I wish I thought of that as fast. Listening to awful music as I do, means I like to play Dragonforce, Nile and Necrophagist among other things, and they go above the semiquavers at 200bpm mark at times! Can't keep that up for long mind.