Why become a member? ×

hartke bass strings

Geek99

I've just got a packet of 3 x 5 string sets off Ebay for £11 odd(!!!!!!!!!) and in the first packet/set I've put on, the B is pretty dead - the rest are fine, but the tonal difference with the B is so great I'm forced to get a single B and replace it. I suppose at that price I mustn't grumble!

Also, being nickel plated, they leave my fingers black.

G.

Greetings,

I've been using these for a couple of years now & rate them highly. Nice & warm, growly, reasonable lifespan & very economical.

The ball ends seem to be aluminium. I've had one that sheared, which was annoying, & might be a factor if you're especially vigorous (the one that broke was in my Kahler, so you'd have to be [i][b]very[/b][/i] vigorous!).

I'm unsure how consistent they are from set to set though. I have to reset the intonation every time I change a set (something I rarely if ever did when I used to buy EB Hybrids), & I suspect that the stated gauges are not particularly close tolerance - I've had two sets with a slightly rogue D string that are absolutely fine on the fretted stuff but choke around the A2 on the fretless, which implies it might be slightly out of gauge. I don't have a micrometer (or know how to use one) to see if this is the case though.

The main Ebay supplier is a firm called mw-music sales uk. Don't be fooled by the "uk" bit, they're actually in Florida - delivery times seem to be about a week & there may be Customs/Duty issues if ordering in bulk. I've only ever bought single 3-packs which sneak in under the radar, so can't comment if this is the case.

All in all they're very good for the money & ideal if you're on a tight budget or aren't overfussed or are just starting out. I'm staying with 'em for the foreseeable.

Pete.