Why become a member? ×

Drums

alexclaber

El Homero's thread about timekeeping got me thinking about this. I'm not a real drummer but I've been messing around on kits since soon after I started playing bass and can certainly fool the less musically edumacated. My technique is shoddy but I understand how to create grooves and use the kit in its cunning ways and feel that this is invaluable in how I (almost unconsciously) lock with the drums when playing bass.

Who else plays the drums to one degree or another and how has this affected your bass playing?

Alex

[quote name='alexclaber' post='69736' date='Oct 4 2007, 09:58 PM']El Homero's thread about timekeeping got me thinking about this. I'm not a real drummer but I've been messing around on kits since soon after I started playing bass and can certainly fool the less musically edumacated. My technique is shoddy but I understand how to create grooves and use the kit in its cunning ways and feel that this is invaluable in how I (almost unconsciously) lock with the drums when playing bass.

Who else plays the drums to one degree or another and how has this affected your bass playing?

Alex[/quote]

Started off on drums, but then moved on to guitar then bass (my brother & I swapped). Like you I can still bang out a beat. Always had a drum machine of some sort, & have an appreciation for good techno /'dance' music along with many other genres.
This has definitely helped my playing /technique, & affects the way I sometimes approach the instrument.

I can play drums. I don't feel it has helped me a great deal in playing bass (because I'm already at a certain standard). I spend a lot of time with my band's drummer (and always have) figuring rhythms, etc, out, and that is more important than just relying on your own input. People on here will state otherwise, but for me drums is just a bit of fun =]