Why become a member? ×

Is my bullet truss rod okay? AVRI 75 JAZZ

So I got this last week from BassBros. 

the truss rod appeared to be maxed out as I couldn’t get it straight after a few turns - so without wanting to break it - I took it to my local tech. 

he popped a washer in the give it some more adjustment travel. And it’s done the job. The neck is now almost as straight as an arrow (my preference) and all is well. It adjust as expected. 

I did notice however, the bullet nut is now quite a lot closer inside the neck. 

should I be worried? Will it explode? I have the before and after photos. I’m worried that it’s like compressed into the neck wood or something but I’m no expert. Even though it plays perfectly there’s a niggling feeling of doubt in my mind that something is not as it’s supposed to be. But it’s my first bass with this type of truss rod so I wondered if anyone else came across something like that? 

thanks guys!!!IMG_7817.thumb.jpeg.ddd9358760341a2152c905e9eec3cc15.jpegIMG_7815.thumb.jpeg.9ca1cb4d79fc1161ab1dd53c8f49438f.jpeg

I'm no expert, but if the rod hasn't broken and the neck isn't cracked then you're probably ok.

I have the exact same bass too, also from 2003. I got mine a couple of months ago from @walshy of the Vintage Bass Room. They are lovely.

Congrats.

Rob

• Like 2

I have no particular expertise in this area, however I would be wary of a neck where the end of the truss rod is sunk in like that. My limited understanding of what might be happening makes me wonder whether there is an issue with the anchor at the other end, such as the wood holding it compressing under the tension. It might be perfectly okay, but it would irk me if it was on one of my guitars or basses.

• Like 2

Thanks for the replies guys. Appreciated.