Why become a member? ×

AMPEG B15N and Barefaced RetroTwo10?

Jazzneck

I've just spent a pleasant hour annoying the neighbours playing my '53P alike through my 1973 Ampeg B15N Portaflex.

The tone is superb old school blues / rock'n'roll but the volume is quite low before the EV speaker starts farting out.

It occurred to me that I could maybe put the Ampeg B15 head through the Barefaced like I did with my Elgen 100W head.

Has anyone tried this trick?

Will I get more volume or is it the amp that is the limiting factor?

I'll need to make a special lead to try it, the Ampeg has one of those funny 4 prong jobbies, if I'm to isolate the EV speaker / cab.

The extension speaker out on the Ampeg is 8ohms so I'll have to find out what the EV connection ohmage is, won't I.

Edited by Jazzneck

[quote name='discreet' timestamp='1446121195' post='2897037']
I'm no expert but I think you may perceive more volume as the Retro will be more efficient?
[/quote]

Yup, that's my thinking.

The Portaflex experts over in the US say that the output impedance to the EV in the cabinet is 8 ohms but it's OK to run to a 4 ohm cab. but to watch out for an overheating transformer on the amp.

The 4 prong to Speakon connection is going to take a bit of working out though.

Edited by Jazzneck

[quote name='JTUK' timestamp='1446138160' post='2897269']
You could put it thru anything but I wouldn't pay out for anything extra.

Low powered amp so you aren't going to get any volume out of it, IMO.
[/quote]

I wouldn't use the word "any", I regularly gig my 30-watter with great results.
We play rock music and I use amp as a monitor on stage, and used Ashdown Little Bastard on gigs with audiences from 60 to ~3000 people.