Why become a member? ×

Plato

steve-bbb

Interesting indeed. If it's correct then it will require the academic community to extensively rethink what we thought we knew about Plato, and about the Pythagoreans, and the music of the period, and ...

The research is still at a fairly early stage in it's development, and as stated at the end of the article it will take some time before the full picture will emerge (if indeed it does).

I studied under Barker at the University of Warwick, and I recall that the music of the period is a particular interest of his. I certainly drew on some of his research in my series of articles published elsewhere on Basschat.

One caveat I would urge people to consider though - we need to be extremely careful and cautious about putting modern ideas about musical form and structure onto the ancient Greeks. The simple fact is that they didn't think about it in anything like the same way as we do today. I won't bore people with the details here (if anybody's interested then they might like to look up my work in the 'Theory and Technique' section), but they just didn't. How this research might affect our understanding of music in Plato's Greece is still a very long way from being clear. For one thing, the Pythagoreans were Mathematicians: the scales they came up with were Mathematical constructs based on what we would identify as ratios. As a sect, their interest in music as a performance activity was minimal. Furthermore, I'm not aware that a 12-note scale of the kind that we might recognise even existed at the time (the Pythagoreans did have a method for generating a series of 12 musical intervals - which I suspect will turn out to be linked to this work - but whether it was ever actually used to generate a working scale that was actually used by actual working musicians is a long way from being clear).

As I say, fascinating stuff, but let's not be hasty...

Edited by leftybassman392