Why become a member? ×

My playing is getting better from reading...

bubinga5

im not sure how to explain it... but for the last 4 months if been teaching myself how to read... im not thinking im going to turn pro, but its just something ive always wanted to do.... now when i play (without reading) i find my self playing better and finding notes and playing around chords alot more interesting..... its also given me some discipline... for 2 months every evening for an hour ive been doing the study bass note quiz... found it very useful.. finding note exercises are great.. you gotta know every note anywhere on that fb.. its so essential imo..

i lost studying music for a while.. strange because music is why i started playing in the first place.. but im so glad ive got my energy and passion back for me to move forward...

Edited by bubinga5

I know a lot of musicians who have never lost that almost obsessive enthusiasm for music and that desire to stretch themselves. I'd like to count myself as one of them. Nothing worse than reaching a plateau and getting comfortable churning out the same old stuff.

I find any change/addition to a practice routine can open up your playing and expand your horizons. I found the same when I started to learn to read music. Unfortunately I had to prioritise learning songs for the band, but intend to go back to learning to read in the coming weeks.

[quote name='peted' timestamp='1329031708' post='1536165']
I find any change/addition to a practice routine can open up your playing and expand your horizons. I found the same when I started to learn to read music. Unfortunately I had to prioritise learning songs for the band, but intend to go back to learning to read in the coming weeks.
[/quote]

Learning to read isn't some thing to under prioritise. Literally just 10-15 minutes everyday and you will see wonders.