Why become a member? ×

Effects for beginners

Rick05

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the world of effects and just wondered if anyone has advice on using them.

I have been playing for about 8 years and now am in a pretty serious band where the guitarists have just bought lots of nice gadgets and wonderful toys (not that thats affecting my choice in any way lol). The band is kind of alternative rock like A Perfect Circle/Incubus kind of thing.

The only thing I use regularly is an ashdown commpressor which I have on most of the time as it sounds awesome, but I just wondered what other things are avaliable and what other people like to use live and what can be used in everyday settings to beef up sound and generally make songs more interesting?

Looking forward to hearing what people recommend.

Thanks,

Rick

Get a multi FX pedal to start with. This way you'll get to know what fx you're gonna use & what you ain't & not end up buying a pretty brick.

Depending on how much you want to spend, have a look at Zoom, Line 6 & Roland. THere's some in the For Sale section.

[quote name='xgsjx' post='1184387' date='Apr 1 2011, 09:43 AM']Get a multi FX pedal to start with. This way you'll get to know what fx you're gonna use & what you ain't & not end up buying a pretty brick.

Depending on how much you want to spend, have a look at Zoom, Line 6 & Roland. THere's some in the For Sale section.[/quote]

Good advice! For years I chopped and changed stompboxes, then I bought a multiFX unit and now my old pedals are neglected.

If I were you, i'd go onto youtube and look for demos of pedals. It's handy to find out exactly what each effect actually does!
Search for reverb, delay, overdrive, fuzz, synth and chorus (I'd say they're the main effects that people use) demos.