Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

active and passive

shinkicker

Hi, I am fairly new to bass playing and am currently looking to buy an electric bass, can someone please tell me what active and passive are when talking about bass electronics and give me some idea which type i should be looking at with regards playing rock/blues. I know its a basic question but gotta ask if you dont know :)

Can of worms springs to mind mate! This thread was only recently done and the outcome was about 50/50 as to which they prefer no matter what style your playing. Obviously 50% were wrong as the correct answer is active :)

Seriously though try out everything you can and go for what feels best (can you play or are you a total beginner?) go for comfort first of all, whatever just feels right for you then worry about all the other stuff later.

If you want to save yourself posting another popular thread then the new Squiers are very well liked by many of us on this forum and one of those certainly wont get you off to a bad start and can be made active later if you like without too much fuss.

Enjoy, Pete.

Passive basses are how things were originally. Just a pickup, a volume, a tone pot and a capacitor. This gives a weaker signal that but one that can be subtle and warm.

At some point in the seventies people noticed a battery powered pedal helped boost the signal in long leads. Why not build a tiny 9v powered preamp into the bass? This is an active bass, with it you get proper tone controls for bass/mid/treble and the instrument signal is boosted. So much so that many amps have a special active input. The active sound is more forward, more in your face.

Pros of passive, no battery to go flat on you, moody old school sound. Pros of active, instant oomph.