Why become a member? ×

Secondhand Bass Head from shop

3V17C

hmmm just wondering peoples thoughts on this..

My current bass head has been making funny noises lately so I recently bought online a pre-owned well known brand/reasonably pricey bass head from a reputable/established dealer. Trouble is, when it arrived, it didn't work!! The shop I got it from was fine about it assuring me they had tested it etc and fair enough they arranged painlessly for it to be collected for return to them so their repair guy could have a look at it. Trouble is, that was over 3 weeks ago now and its still not been sorted out. I think now I'd like my money back so I can go and buy something else as I'm gigging regularly and need a new amp pronto (I paid on credit card) Where do I stand on this...? thoughts people..?

peace

c

I have a law degree as it happens. The OP should be entitled to his money back, but the shop are first entitled to take 'a reasonable time' to inspect the goods to see if they can repair.
It doesn't matter legally if he's being inconvenienced now, but if he starts a Small Claim then he can ask for recompense for it.
I'd send them a letter stating the facts and giving them 7 days to state what they are going to do to assist.
They may be waiting for parts and have forgotten to tell him.
After 7 days I'd be talking to the credit card people.
If they can't help, and they have quite a lot of clout with retailers, I'd start a small claim in the county court and cvlaim interest for the entire period of loss

[quote name='Toddy' post='930739' date='Aug 20 2010, 11:25 AM']If it didnt work,,, ie,, not fit for purpose,,,, yeah,, course you are entitled to your money back,,, :)[/quote]

+1 . Money back, end of!

[quote name='solofunkyjazz' post='930900' date='Aug 20 2010, 01:37 PM']Tell them about this thread.

Bad publicity generally works wonders.[/quote]

MB1. :)