Why become a member? ×

Death Metal Bass guitar

Skinkemann

Hey there!

I've been playing bass now for well, 4 years, with breakes in between.
Played with my band, rock/metal. Nothin really heavy.

Now that we've changed our style, to more death metal, mix of death metal and trash. Atleast it requires some fast finger playing!

So I've started to feel I need a new bass, the one I have now doens't really fit to the style, not the sound on it, nor the bass itselfs, doesn't feel comfortable(This could probably be better with new strings, mics etc. But seeing as I'm not really handy with the tools, and I'd like a new bass afterall.

My current one is a [b][i]Yamaha RBX374[/i][/b], the sound it makes when I play fast and hard is just really bad. Really lose and it just gives an awful sound.
Anyone got tips for a new one?

All help and tips about other bass guitars is really appreciated

Forgot to mention I and the guitarist play in drop c, how is that anyways, with playing a 5 string together with a guitar that plays drop c? or should I just stick to 4's?

Edited by Skinkemann

Check out the Ibanez SR505. Thinnest neck in the market, perfect for fast playing, VERY light and comfortable (in fact lighter than many guitars), heavily contoured body, optimal balance, very versatile sound with Bartolini pickups and preamp, can do anything from old school wooly sounds to clanky-zingy-earthshattering metal, and if you like wood, it has the looks. I love mine!

Edited by Fraktal

i used to play death metal with a passive bc rich warlock. the sound was amazing through an old valve amp and two 15" cabs.
recording wise, i used my old WEM dominator II combo breaking up nicely.

there is no right or wrong instrument to use for any genre of music although i wouldn't turn up to a country or rockabilly show with one of my pointy deans!