Why become a member? ×

Help needed: Identifying source of unwelcome "rattle".

SamIAm

Hi BC massive!

I've little experience with head/cab setups and need your help/advice regarding a problem I have with such a setup.

After attending the SE bass bash I concluded that my small/light combo needed a big brother.

I purchased a PJB C4 from here on BC, it arrived yesterday, nicely packed, condition as described (As you'd expect given the glowing feedback for the BCer I bought it from).  Set it up as follows:

Bass = Ibinex GSRM25, passive pickups.

Guitar cable = brand new Fender Deluxe Series Instrument Cable - 5m

Amp = TC Electric BH250 (Well, to be accurate it is the amp section of a BG250-208 that had been disconnected from the cab by the very kind person who gifted it to me after my fire.  I have vague memories of him mentioning it had been done due to some 'thing' that no longer seemed to be a problem)

Amp cable = brand new Stagg 2m S Series Speakon to Speakon Lead

Cab = PJB C4

<bass> -> <head> -> <cab>

Amp settings:

CleanShot2023-11-22at19_57.39@2x.thumb.png.355e84dec3f447fbf25ad0d96aa7423a.png

Gain: Passive Pickups. All tone controls set to 12 o'clock (neutral), TonePrint all the way off, master at 12 O'clock.

I am finding that when I play the E or B the C4 'rattles' , the sound seems to eminate from the rear of the cab.  I have moved it around, away from stuff it might be rattling.  I cannot feel any movement of the rear panel.

Not a great recording, but with headphones on it does illustrate the rattle I'm talking about ... yech!

I would usually go through the process of swapping out all the different bits to try and identify the problem.

Different bass, same thing.

Different guitar cable, same thing.

I've just the one amp, but I moved it back to the TC cab (this also meant a different speakon cable) and .... hmmmm ... not the same, but not good!

What could it be?