Why become a member? ×

Quick question on scale lengths...newbie thing.

I've been playing regular basses for 30+ years and I've been thinking about dipping into the EUB market for a little while - I'm drawn to NS Design basses (WAV or NXT), from a value for money point along and general design aesthetic they tick my boxes and as I'm a kind of in at the deep end type I'd go the whole hog and pull for a five string from the outset.

The primary question here is that if I went with a double bass, I'm looking at a scale length of 40" or thereabouts, the NS OMNI only comes in at 34" (so comparable with a regular bass)...if I went with an Omni, it's not really going to give me much more than playing a fretless bass is it?  Hell, you can play them on a strap.  Size aside, is there any real disadvantage in going with a 40" over a 34"?

Personally, if you want to play DB then buy a DB. It’ll help you to learn the correct fingerings and (with the help of a teacher) avoid you from falling into bad habits.

Personally the NS stuff always feels to close to a guitar than a real DB. I’m sure others may disagree but I’d recommend attempting to fall in love with the big one. Best advice is to find a local music shop that rents them, you’ll be able to get a feel for it, find a teacher and have a crack without spending loads...

31 minutes ago, Burns-bass said:

Personally, if you want to play DB then buy a DB. It’ll help you to learn the correct fingerings and (with the help of a teacher) avoid you from falling into bad habits.

Personally the NS stuff always feels to close to a guitar than a real DB. I’m sure others may disagree but I’d recommend attempting to fall in love with the big one. Best advice is to find a local music shop that rents them, you’ll be able to get a feel for it, find a teacher and have a crack without spending loads..

I don't have the space for a big one, so the WAV/NXT will suit my need, I think.