Why become a member? ×

Dalek's handbag Roland GR bass synth

Wotcher

Saw one in Johnny Roadhouse years ago was well beyond me at the time.

There was a lad trying it and the assistant said "ok mate, here you go - it doesn't work when it's slapped so don't" sure enough, first thing the lad trying it played? Higher Ground by RHCP.

But after that ultimately useless anecdote; I have no further experience...sorry.

Big Red X will tell you how they don't really work for MIDI at any decent speed. Can still be played as unremarkable sounding basses according to Dave Swift who collects the weird and wonderful (oh and plays in a little combo with a pianist called Jools Holland).

[font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif][color=#282828]Sigue Sigue Sputnik actually used the guitar version (which did work reasonably well) to trigger MIDI bass sounds, hence their distinctive sound.[/color][/font]

Edited by cytania

[quote name='cytania' timestamp='1391362763' post='2356214']
Can still be played as unremarkable sounding basses according to Dave Swift who collects the weird and wonderful (oh and plays in a little combo with a pianist called Jools Holland).
[/quote]
Is it good for boogie woogie? :)

I remember seeing a young kid (about 8) playing some amazing stuff on one at a guitar fair many years ago (was it at The Barbican??) He was accompanied by, what I assumed was, his brother on a Simmonds drumkit - both could play!!!

Remember it is 80s technology...

[quote name='cytania' timestamp='1391362763' post='2356214']
Big Red X will tell you how they don't really work for MIDI at any decent speed. Can still be played as unremarkable sounding basses according to Dave Swift who collects the weird and wonderful (oh and plays in a little combo with a pianist called Jools Holland).