Why become a member? ×

Getting the Passion Back

fragility

No, I'm not trying to locate a missing copy of the Mel Gibson movie. I've just come to these boards for the first time in a long time, but it has really helped me reconnect with bass this morning. My job essentially went completely mental and I have been managing like 30mins max bass per week for the last 18 months. This has meant that when I do play, I'm even more crap than I ever was and it just isn't enough time to fuel a desire to play.

I am determined to change this. My job's not going to get any better any time soon, but I need to start making some time for something I enjoy. While that's not bass right now, last night's drunken rock out has reminded me how much I used to love it. So, my plan, in embryonic form right now, is to start waking out some small bits of playing time, use my time stood at the station every day to catch up on these boards and try and refuel my passion.

Anyone got any other tips?

Welcome back :)

Can you keep a cheap bass at the office to play on your lunch breaks? Create a playlist of songs where they really make you WANT to play bass. Technically speaking you don't need a bass in your hands to practice either :)

Classic time management technique for these 'Important but not Urgent' tasks is to stick time in your diary and stick to it. Of course having a diary first will help and telling anyone who needs to know that this is your bass time.

Tell work you have an appointment every Thursday at 7pm that you have to get home for and that should take care of you getting out of the office and into the habbit.

[quote name='BurritoBass' timestamp='1369643920' post='2091060']
I had a life changing year in 2009 and I always try to remember the following;

There isn't a tombstone in this land with "they wished they spent more time at work"

Welcome back
[/quote]

+1 but in 2002!