Why become a member? ×

Starting Out

Quest_bikerider

Hi all bass players,

I am new here, & a relitive beginer so please be gentle with me. Without repeating myself please refer to my introduction post 'Marc Berkshire' I think it indicates whare on the bass playing spectrum I belong, which is somewhare near the bottom I more than suspect. I now have some time on my hands & would like to 'learn' this instrument properly . Im not a natural musician, or have asperations to be the next best there is, but I have a good work/practice ethic & would like to improve for my own benifit & enjoyment, I am sure Im not the only one in this position, so i & maybe others would just like to know how all you experienced bass players started out & the path you have taken to get whare you are, any advice you could give to a novice like myself would im sure be valuable?

Have you sorted any more lessons? I saw from your intro post that you have done a course but you may find that having some more lessons will refresh your memory and perhaps introduce you to other techniques etc. Can you read music? I know opinion is divided on whether this is necessary but IMO it is an enormous benefit.

I'm sort of in the same boat as you (albeit a couple of years younger ;)) as I (re)started playing only about 8 months ago and I'm enjoying it immensely. I'm not sure either where this will take me...

I seem to recall the first thing I did was learn the bass line to 'Stand By Me'. Then I learned the blues scale. From there I think I figured out that the odd-numbered intervals of a scale made up chords and I was suddenly better than all the other bass players I knew.

I'm not now of course because my education stalled quite soon after that. ;)

Thanks for your replys guys.