Why become a member? ×

Another New Member

Huge Hands

Hello all,

I was recommeded to this forum by a friend. I think I've spotted him on here, but not sure of his "handle" so I'll have to ask him!

My name is Stew, I'm 30, and wow! I've just thought about it and realised I have been playing on and off for about 16 years!

I am a huge disciple of James Jamerson, and I also rate Chuck Rainey, Willie Weeks, Russell Jackson and Stuart Zender as some of my biggest influences, although I don't claim to be able to play as well as or like any of them!

I currently have three axes - (all cheap!).

My gigging setup is a Cort C5 and Ashdown MAG300 2x10 combo (with extra plug in 15" bin if really necessary).

I also have a Squier Japanese Vintage 4 string Jazz. I love this bass, but wish it had a 5th string! I've had it for 15 years and it was second-hand then. It's not one of the really early ones with "Fender by Squier" on the headstock, but it has got a reasonably low serial number. I reckon it plays and feels better than the new Fenders.

Finally, I have a really cheap 3/4 upright. I didn't feel like paying a fortune if I couldn't master it, and as expected, it is already covered in dings and scratches from where it's been dragged around! As a birthday present last year I got a Bob Golihur pickup set for it (probably worth more than the bass itself, especially after Customs and Excise dumped import duty on it!) and am still enjoying messing around with it to get a sound I like.

I haven't been brave enough to gig with it yet - I'm not clever enough to be a full on Jazz widdler!

Anyway, hope you're all not bored of my yakking already, I'm looking forward to being part of your community, if you'll have me.

I'd love to be playing more, but unfortunately a very demanding full time job always gets in the way!

Stew

Edited by Huge Hands

[quote name='neepheid' post='156690' date='Mar 13 2008, 01:10 PM']Welcome aboard. Do you really have large hands?[/quote]