Why become a member? ×

Fretless Songs

Tait

I'm just starting to learn fretless and so far I'm transferring things like Red Hot Chili Peppers onto it. Are there any songs that are worth me listening to and then learning to play specifically to improve my fretless playing? What sort of stuff do all of the other fretless players out there play?

[quote name='lwtait' post='67259' date='Sep 29 2007, 08:17 AM']WHO'S BADGE BY?

edit: sorry, caps lock was on.[/quote]
You cant be serious? Whoever was responsible for your musical education should be sacked :) Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker - collectively known as Cream.

As for fretless toons, I tend to prefer playing more melodic bass lines on the fretless but when I gig I just play what I feel like playing. Sometimes I'll use the fretless all night - other times I dont use it at all.

Good stuff to look at is bands that had fretless players like Bad Company and Japan. You could always try some Jaco if you want to tie your fingers in knots.

[quote name='bass_ferret' post='67281' date='Sep 29 2007, 09:36 AM']You cant be serious? Whoever was responsible for your musical education should be sacked :) Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker - collectively known as Cream.

As for fretless toons, I tend to prefer playing more melodic bass lines on the fretless but when I gig I just play what I feel like playing. Sometimes I'll use the fretless all night - other times I dont use it at all.

Good stuff to look at is bands that had fretless players like Bad Company and Japan. You could always try some Jaco if you want to tie your fingers in knots.[/quote]

I've heard of Cream, just not the song Badge.