Why become a member? ×

Slapping, popping and percussive bass

Burns-bass

When I started playing DB I loved the rich timbre that you just can’t get anywhere else. I’ve spent my time trying to coax a deep, rich and unique tone form my bass (and mostly failing).

Turns out, I’ve been doing it all wrong.

I’ve (hopefully) got a gig playing blues classics, providing the old school percussive, slap bass that works.

But I don’t really know what I’m doing.

Can anyone recommend any good books (I prefer books to online tutorials, but will do so at a push) that can help with technique?

If anyone in Bristol can highlight any love gigs where such playing will happen I shall ensure I’m there!

Are there any videos / recordings that point in the direction of the sound you are looking for?  I used to use my DB with Corelli 370s and a Schaller magnetic pickup for blues / folk.  Percussive yes, like a p bass on steroids - yes.  Slap, no chance, string tension too high.   Later changed to silver slaps with realist pickup. Thumpy, slappable (my techniques was below poor) but no percussiveness.   (I no longer have the DB but still do some EUB now and then).  Try this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7cu1PvhhnU, she inspires me to think about DB again.

Cheers Chris!

I don’t need to spend more money on gear. I’ve done all that and am super happy with what I have (Bryant double bass, Spiros, Realist). My goal is to play jazz but I can turn down a gig.

The guitarist just asked me to play more percussively and (if I’m honest) want some hints and tips.

Id love a book, but as soon as you type slap bass into Google, well, you can guess…

I fully relate to using books, they are my first choice over video / YouTube etc. Given the physical size of your  DB, your height, arm reach and end pin height,  is plucking nearer the bridge possible as per increasing  bass guitar string attack?