Why become a member? ×

better bass for my 12 year old son?

WheresMyJumper

Hi

My 12 year old plays bass and we were given/lent a bass, Crest Columbus. It is a bit rubbish, some of the pots dont work and it is very buzzy. My more knowledgable friend (mind he does play lead guitar) said it would cost more to fix than its worth, so I have been wondering what we could replace it with from the for sale section. My son is at grade 5 on the classical guitar and does a band workshop once a week so he isnt an absolute beginner. his current bass came with a Rocket 20B bass practice amp which has also seen better days.

Any suggestions what we should go for? I guess it also needs to look the part! I was hoping to get away with spending under £200!

Also look out for the Bass Collection instruments made in Japan by SGC Nanyo.

That's a pretty specific description - check the backplate for a sticker stating "SGC Nanyo" and "Made In Japan".

The brand were very high quality in 1988-1995, but the brand was then devalued by lesser copies using the same name afterwards.

Result = You can get a lightweight, high-end bass for silly money, usually less than £200.

[quote name='WheresMyJumper' timestamp='1318609761' post='1404373']
great thanks for the advice, but will it get my son playing 'sweet child of mine' any better!
[/quote]

Only your son will be able to answer that. Get him down to a shop with both high and low value basses. Let him find what he likes in basses and you will be able to narrow down the search.

For example: Jazz basses get a whole load of press and with good reason! However I just can't get on with them, I can play them but not as well as I can play many other basses. Before you buy any bass make sure your son tries and likes it.

I highly HIGHLY discourage buying blind in this case.

Good luck with your search, there are many high quality basses in the budget range you've mentioned on the Sale forum I'm sure one of them will be ideal for him.