Why become a member? ×

D.I. Box with upright

Cat Burrito

I'm fairly new to upright & we occasionally play acoustic gigs where I get to use it. I play country / bluegrass type stuff. At the bigger Art Centre gigs & the local acoustic night I have no problems sound wise but last night I again faced the inexperienced soundman's look of blind panic. I have a shadow pickup in the bridge & usually go through the PA. It sounds great. However with a less confident soundman I can get feedback & struggle to hear myself. My guitarist suggested I get myself a D.I. box and this seems a good idea. Would this be good idea & if so I wonder what the more experienced upright players would recommend? Also what tips can I give an inexperienced soundman to help get a good sound?

Get something with a flexible EQ - different venues pose different sound problems with the upright. If you can find one try a Fishman Dual Parametric DI.

A good tip to give the soundguy is to roll off a lot of the low end - from 100Hz down. That might sound like a high point to start cutting from but it can be very useful to letting to note be heard rather than the boom. A variable Hi-Pass filter works great for this - like the one found on Acoustic Image heads. That should be a feature common to all amps, IMO.

I didn't get to try it with my upright - but I read that it didn't have a high enough input impedance which would limit it's compatibility with several of the piezo pickups out there. The EQ section was useful, tho I don't know what frequencies each knob was centered at. The manual was less than useful for that info. I don't imagine it to be a great DI/EQ for upright. The distortion channel (which can be used as a clean channel with the BLEND knob set fully to your clean signal) always has the COLOUR preset engaged, which has a huge mid-scoop and bass boost. Not good ingredients for most live settings (especially the ones I end up in at least 70% of the time).