Why become a member? ×

Home build 3

Peaty

I posted the start of this project on the old bass world site but it didnt make the jump to basschat. Anyway after a work imposed lay off during the summer this is up and running again and hopefully to be done by the festive season.

The plan was to make a five string fretless from ash with a pretty wood top on it.
so a few historical posts of the work done earlier in the year

Ash jointed and planed to thickness

Spalted beach top roughly cut out

close up of the figure

router template in place

top and body ready for gluing

can never get enough clamps

body ready for contouring

next post will be neck construction

shaped and routed body sanded and ready for finishing

which brings me onto the recent work and the joys of spraying with 'rustins plastic coating'

I am new to spraying so there has been a steep learning curve to climb but all in all I am pretty pleased with the results.

After a lot of coats most of which went into filling the grain of the ash, a lot of rubbing down with wet and dry which is quite therapeutic and a few cock ups, runs and other crimes against smooth and shiny (which means more rubbing down). This is what I got.

front

back

and mocked up with the hard wear resting in position

Now it is time to fit all the bits

Edited by Peaty

Shielding going in to the control cavity and home made neck plate in place. Making my own neck plate was really more trouble than it was worth, next time I will get an off the shelf neck plate and arrange the neck bolts to suit it.

Ok electronics next

Sorry I jumped the gun there in the middle of your thread. It's very interesting to see you using Rustin's Plastic Coating, I've been considering using it for my next natural wood project. Looks like you got a great finish there from the photos. How did you get on with it? Is it easy to spray? What sort of time did you have to wait between coats?