Why become a member? ×

Suggestions on effects for slap.

Blazenblue

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I could buy to enhance my slap sound?

I played through my freinds 10" ashdown Today and was blown away by how much more percussive my slaps sounded. All I have to my self is a typical little £20 practice amp.

While i've done alot on electronic signals at uni i'm very new to music and find it hard to work out which effects will aquire what I want. I've heard people talk about limiters and compressors in relation to slap, but arn't they mostly to reduce the volume difference between slaps and pops?

If anyone can give me a few tips about what they found useful then i can borrow my mates B2.1U dial some things in and work out what I'm going to buy/build.

Thanks to anyone that helps out.

Save up & buy an Ashdown combo?

They ain't all that dear & it's better than wasting money on something that isn't actually gonna do what you want.

Have a look in the second hand section, there's plenty of bargains to be had.

in terms of useful/interesting effects to use while slapping........

A compressor is definitely useful and can help even out the dynamics and help your sound sit better in the mix.

I use an envelope filter while slapping sometimes too; but i find i have to be careful not to make the pedal clip while slapping. I use a Groove Regulator, whihc has a switch to rein the filter in a lit to prevent clipping and volume spikes when putting peaky signals through it.

However none of these effects are going to really change the amp's natural characteristics; in fact I don't think it's really possible to do that. I eould suggest researching amps a bit more though. As there are plenty of alternatives to Ashdown and in my humble opinion plenty of much better alternatives, possibly for even less money too.