Why become a member? ×

Breaking out of the pub gig circuit

6v6

I've been playing pub gigs for the last 15+ years, in various bands, and it's always the same - after a while you end up going through the motions playing to near-empty pubs for many (most?) of your gigs, and it slowly becomes a chore.

Obviously you're there to help the pub sell more beer, but it's frustrating how few folks turn out for live music a lot of the time, so unless you bring a mob of folks with you (which, realistically, you can't do all the time), you run the risk of a depressingly small turnout.

How do folks break out of this cycle and get into the better, more well attended gigs/venues?

I'm realistic, we're never going to be a big-time act, but I'd be content playing a few small niche festival type events a year, maybe do some beer/car-festivals, that kind of thing.

We've done a few parties etc, but have stopped short of doing the whole wedding-band thing, as none of us really want to make the musical compromises associated with that, but feedback on our gigs is normally good, and we're regarded as one of the best live bands in the local town.

Lately, we've been trying to break out of the local town (as we've somewhat saturated the market there, playing sometimes too-often in various places) and play places further afield, but then we're back to the empty-pub syndrome, because outside the local area, nobody knows us, and folks don't turn out for a band they've never heard of, evidently :(

Any tips, sympathy or words of wisdom folks?

We're away to do our first out of town pub gig at the end of next month. Hoping to get a few nearby folk I know to come along. After that, it's just hope and pray it isn't awful. Did some out of town gigs with my previous bands and yeah, hit and miss. The busy, fun nights more than make up for the quiet, crappy ones - the good ones are the ones you reminisce about after all.