Why become a member? ×

So you think you can play bass?

AntWPF

Hello guys and girls. :)

I'm Anthony and I'm currently studying a BA(Hons) in Commercial Music. For my commercial project I've created a bass tuition website and some videos for it/Youtube. The website is nearly done, there are a few tweaks that need to be made which I'm doing today but most importantly my first video will be up in a few hours. The general idea is to create a groove library and to incorporate theory into some of the lessons.

I had a few teething issues with recording the video and marrying the audio but it's more or less there and also had a few issues with the slower tempos/recording and the way I performed them. I'm on a bit of a learning curve with this and I've already know what I'm going to do to remedy the issues I had in this first video.

Anyway, I would love some critique on it and hopefully the issues I have in mind will pop up with you guys as a reassurance to me.

I would be over the moon if you could like my page of Facebook and this will all go towards my grade on how I'm advertising etc. www.facebook.com/soyouthinkyoucanplaybass

Be nice, playing bass isn't a competition and neither is teaching it.

[quote name='AntWPF' timestamp='1368112724' post='2073375']
I probably should have mentioned that the video is currently uploading, I'll post the link when it's done. :)
[/quote]

Cool :)

Erm, watch your spelling on your FB page :) Bare with me, eyes pealed, etc. It looks unprofessional mate.

[quote name='xilddx' timestamp='1368113017' post='2073380'] Cool :) Erm, watch your spelling on your FB page :) Bare with me, eyes pealed, etc. It looks unprofessional mate. [/quote]

Cheers dude, didn't even notice that!

My only (intended as constructive :) ) comment would be to do with your R/H technique.

Playing with such a bent wrist whilst resting your forearm on the body of the bass, is a
recipe for physical problems further down the line, if not resolved .