Why become a member? ×
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

After playing for 25 years I have just been playing E# for the first time!

stingrayPete1977

As a fairly novice reader I have just been using my new found skill to read Chaka Khan Aint Nobody for our function band and as its in F# major the E is sharp, ten years ago I would of doubted its existence even though I had probably been playing them, This was the first time I have ever conciously played E# :) Doddy will be proud next time I see him :D

[quote name='chardbass' timestamp='1361131459' post='1981625']
I prefer to read in Gb when it comes to the loadsa accidentals key sigs- I find Cbs easier to read
[/quote]

Really? I kept reading it as C as it's on the line but tbh, I'm only getting started with the reading thing so that doesn't surprise me :)

[quote name='discreet' timestamp='1361131460' post='1981626']
Oh, that Cb can be a right B******.
[/quote]

:lol:

Trumpets shouldn't be so bad surely? Just bend the note with less 'blow'? On a flute it's possible to bend a note by up to a quarter tone with mouth (embouchure) and breath support alone. Is trumpet the same? Mind you, Miles Davis seemed gloriously flat most of the time anyway, so who would know...

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1361125017' post='1981440']
Still no idea where the double sharp (E##) comes in but I will look for the next 25 years ;)
[/quote]

Aint Nobody is in the relative minor of F#, which is D# minor.

Since you already have an F# and a D#. and according to some arcane rule of musical theory you're only allowed to use each letter once, you end up with E## rather than F .

If you want to call it F, you'll have to play it in Eb minor instead.

Given the above, you can understand the modern fashion which is to write everything in the 'home' key of C and label each and every accidental.

[quote name='pete.young' timestamp='1361133116' post='1981674']