Why become a member? ×

old trace gear. how reliable?

holio.cornolio

Hi All,

I need a bigger / better / more versatile amp. Looking at the classifieds section, there's a fair few old Trace Elliot growlers knocking around for very sensible money, but I'm an amp noob, and have never really bought second hand, and don't want my fingers burnt. I'm not that fussed about how tidy the amp looks, but I don't want to drop £250+ on a second hand head, for it to go tits up mid gig. I'm thinking that whatever I do get, I'll have serviced immediately, but couldn't really afford to sort any nasty surprises out if any turned up (you, know the sort of thing - broken head gasket, worn clutch or whatever).
There's a couple of stinkers hanging around just now that I'm thinking make sense, some 4X10 combos and a GP12SMX head. What are the pitfalls, are they reliable and are they going to go pop as soon as I get the in front of an audience? From what I recall of my time gigging in the 90s, Trace used to make some powerful and toneful gear, but you don't see those old amps knocking around so much on stages these days, so did they all break down?
Thanks in advance

How old is "old"?
I have a 14-year old SMX head & 3 cabs (1203h, 1152 and 1084h)
No issues at all from the cabs. The head glitched once, and I had it serviced and fully tested by an ex-Trace employee. He knew what was up before he opened it!
The boards inside are connected by wires with push-fit spade terminals. Over time, they work loose. As a fix, he soldered all mine in place, cleaned the whole unit out, cleaned an re-lubed the graphic eq, replaced all the illumination, everything.
That's all I've had in 14 years.
Neither the amps nor the cabs are state-of-the-art by today's standards. They're perfectly giggable, but heavy!