Why become a member? ×

thinking of getting a marshall amp, advice.

gub

Seen a MARSHALL Bass Amplifier its a Combo MB44410 and could do with some advice ,i am looking for a nice punchy sound sort of stranglers sound but also do a bit of slap sometimes ,so was wondering if this would be a good choice? any advice welcome.

I have the MB4210 and I've been really pleased with it, capable of some great tones. The modern channel is great for slap tones, and the classic has a real grind to it. Be aware the classic channel is quieter than the modern channel, but you can compensate by using the blend facility.

I did try the MB4410 (it's enormous!) but decided the 4210 was more than sufficient for rehearsals, and just bought the 1x15 extension cab to add at gigs.

I know another person on this forum has had reliability issues with theirs, but I haven't had any problems so far (nearly two years).

Final thought: Love mine, but try before you buy because everybody's different.

I work in a shop that sells tons of the Marshall MB stuff. They are seriously good for the money. But i would say the same as LeonShelley01, that the 4410 is stupidly big and heavy. Go down the 4210 and MBC115 route for sure, as you could get away with the combo only at most gigs.

[quote name='leonshelley01' post='788218' date='Mar 27 2010, 09:20 PM']I have the MB4210 and I've been really pleased with it, capable of some great tones. The modern channel is great for slap tones, and the classic has a real grind to it. Be aware the classic channel is quieter than the modern channel, but you can compensate by using the blend facility.

I did try the MB4410 (it's enormous!) but decided the 4210 was more than sufficient for rehearsals, and just bought the 1x15 extension cab to add at gigs.

I know another person on this forum has had reliability issues with theirs, but I haven't had any problems so far (nearly two years).