Why become a member? ×

Hi, I'm Mike.

MikeTheMisfit

Nice to meet you. I've been playing guitar for 2 years (as bad as the day I started). I went against my gut instinct of playing the Bass because I have neighbours and I just couldn't see any viable way to play without causing upset. So I bought a guitar instead and have struggled along with that for a while. 

I originally played drums which is why I think the Bass appeals more to me, perhaps it's a rhythm thing, I'm not sure.

I am finally taking the plunge into the world of Bass but I was hoping first to get advice from those of you with neighbours. How do you practice? Are you always plugged in to headphones? If so, does this affect your ability to learn. I'd be really grateful for your input, and I hope to stick around here for a long time. Cheers

Mike.

:crigon_04:

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with using headphones, I used to do this due to neighbour considerations. I used to use a Korg Pandora, which had the clever feature of removing bass from an input source to help playing along. I think that other similar devices have this option too.

• Like 1

Hi Mike...

I'm usually just unplugged... or headphones via a Zoom B1on... lot of Basschat love for the Zoom B1 Four... £45ish SH... or a 'lil EHX Headphone amp...

The Vox amplug are prone to breaking,

Edited by PaulThePlug
  • Like 1

21 minutes ago, PaulThePlug said:

Hi Mike...

I'm usually just unplugged... or headphones via a Zoom B1on... lot of Basschat love for the Zoom BFour... or a 'lil EHX Headphone amp...

The Vox amplug are prone to breaking,

I did think about the Vox amplug but it limits you a bit more. At least if I buy an amp and headphones I can have the option of playing out loud if I ever had the opportunity.

I don't have much money, what would be your recommendations for budget bass amps and budget bass headphones.