Why become a member? ×

Looking for a kick up the arse...

This is partly one those "all musicians are bastards!" posts but please bear with me.

Firstly, I'm a 50-something player and I've been playing for about 15 years, mostly in covers bands. Before that I was a drummer since I was about 10! I'm competent but no expert - I've played hundreds of gigs - pubs, weddings, functions blah blah blah.

Anyhoo... I've been playing in quite a successful covers band for a few years and - I won't bore you with the details - the drummer and I effectively got kicked out because we wouldn't play every night of the week like the singer and lead guitarists wanted to (we both have proper jobs). They'd been rehearsing replacements behind our backs as it turned out. That was a kick in the teeth but never mind, that's in the past.

Anyway, I have been left with zero motivation. I've sold loads of gear, PA, van the lot and am left with a couple of basses and my decent rig. I can't stand the thought of starting from scratch knocking on pub doors. In any case I can stand even less the idea of playing pub covers fayre any more. The thought of Paul Rodgers turns my stomach!! And anyway, all musicians are bastards.

I've been actively learning to read the dots (I was a percussion sight-reader back in the day, and that got me theatre gigs and stuff) on the off chance that leads to something. But, to be honest, I'm a hairs-breadth away from selling up and taking up knitting.

Bright ideas appreciated :-)

[quote name='thepurpleblob' timestamp='1464983936' post='3064484']... taking up knitting.

Bright ideas appreciated :-)
[/quote]

Top tip: don't start out on gloves. Do a scarf or two, then a bobble hat.

You'll end up with G.A.S just the same, though...

... or worse...

Wish I could take the job, I want to play every night.

I do this for a living and while we play about 80 shows a year and I want more. I'm 63.

In the only one in the band that doesn't have or want. "Proper " job.