Why become a member? ×

Reasonably priced luthiers

noirpunk

[quote name='neepheid' post='286187' date='Sep 17 2008, 07:54 PM']Extreme chambering!

Get a set of forstner bits/holesaws and attack a bass with a drill press?[/quote]

Already been there. Bought a cheap bass and experimented with it.
Looks okay but it plays like cack. To be honest I just want a nicely built replica - sort of a tribute to Pepsi Tate.

[quote name='TheDarkReaver' post='286247' date='Sep 17 2008, 09:27 PM']Are those holes to reduce wind resistance when hitting the guitarist?[/quote]

hahaha! I'm a guitarist aswell as bass but yes.. guitarists are a pain in the arse :)
Especially ones who can play better than me.... damn them for being able to read music.. damn tem all haha

[quote name='Annoying Twit' post='286260' date='Sep 17 2008, 09:50 PM']Why do you want holes in your bass? Purely cosmetic? Weight reduction?[/quote]

Because I want a replica of Pepsi Tates bass. Sort of poigniant really since he passed away a year ago tomorrow.
He's one of my biggest inspirations and I've wanted a replcia for a while. Just though now would be the time.

[quote name='Jase' post='286343' date='Sep 17 2008, 11:48 PM']Mr Dearnley in Splott Cardiff, loves a project. 02920 462953, but I reckon you should take it to him with those MASSIVE boots you wear!![/quote]

Dave's price for a more or less normal P bass was £1800 last time I asked .. Just to give you an idea as this one would probably be about the same amount of work to build .. oh and about 9 months...

[quote name='OldGit' post='286345' date='Sep 17 2008, 11:52 PM']Dave's price for a more or less normal P bass was £1800 last time I asked .. Just to give you an idea as this one would probably be about the same amount of work to build .. oh and about 9 months...[/quote]

You're kidding me!

[quote name='Jase' post='286353' date='Sep 18 2008, 12:03 AM']You're kidding me![/quote]

Nope.