Why become a member? ×

FX Noob Question

discreet

[b]FX Noob Question[/b]

I've been playing bass for many years, yet I'm a total FX Noob, so forgive me if this comes over as a silly question, but...

I'm using a BDI-21 as a pre, and am very happy with it. For some numbers in our set I need a bit more grit though, and it's a bit hit-and-miss changing the parameters on the fly*, so I was thinking...

Seeing as they are so 'affordable' ;) what is stopping me from getting a second BDI-21, setting up the amount of filth I want on that, and stomping on it when needed?

Are there any problems or pitfalls I'm likely to encounter?

I thank you. :hi:

* Insert 'fly' joke here.

Edited by discreet

[quote name='Al Heeley' timestamp='1343221897' post='1747261']
If you're happy with the tones you get from your unit, and they really are cheap little beggars, there's no problem having 2 in series then switching between them.[/quote]

Thanks very much Al, that's all I needed to know, really! Any other comments, gentlemen..? :)

[quote name='cheddatom' timestamp='1343222923' post='1747285']
You probably knew that, so, yeh, go for it![/quote]

What if I run them both together but have zero EQ dialled in on the second one, just drive and level?
Would that work? :)

Edited by discreet

[quote name='cheddatom' timestamp='1343224178' post='1747303']
...well, if the frequency response of the pedal with "zero EQ" is actually flat, yeh, but I doubt it is! You could probably mess with the EQ until you were happy anyway...[/quote]

Cheers Tom. :hi: Obviously I need to buy another BDI-21 and [s]waste a load of time fiddling mindlessly with the knobs[/s]* carry out extensive research on my 'tone' ;)

*Insert 'knob' joke here.