Why become a member? ×

Agents

essexbasscat

Been a bit quiet on the Western Front gig wise lately and I'm wondering how to drum up some more gigs. A Saturday night at home is nice once in a while, but there's been a few more than usual lately.
The guitarist has an agent that gets us gigs and the diary wasn't too bad last year. But they havn't been coming through as much lately, so I've been thinking of getting another agent involved.

Only, I've never done that sort of thing before and wonder how everyone else goes about getting one. Also, is it a good idea to have two agents on the go at the same time ?

So I'd like to ask, how does everyone else go about getting an agent ?

Thanks in advance for all your contributions

T

Edited by essexbasscat

• 1 year later...

[quote name='essexbasscat' timestamp='1306057397' post='1240104']
Been a bit quiet on the Western Front gig wise lately and I'm wondering how to drum up some more gigs. A Saturday night at home is nice once in a while, but there's been a few more than usual lately.
The guitarist has an agent that gets us gigs and the diary wasn't too bad last year. But they havn't been coming through as much lately, so I've been thinking of getting another agent involved.

Only, I've never done that sort of thing before and wonder how everyone else goes about getting one. Also, is it a good idea to have two agents on the go at the same time ?

So I'd like to ask, how does everyone else go about getting an agent ?

Thanks in advance for all your contributions

T
[/quote]

wow - that fell on deaf ears :)

[quote name='JTUK' timestamp='1348595582' post='1815773']
What gigs are you trying to fill..?
[/quote]

a 5 piece jazz/ swing band

singer, upright bass , drums, guitar, keys and trumpet

playing standards and selected more recent stuff

aiming to play non-pub gigs

more upmarket gigs, maybe corporate and weddings, and high class hotels and restaurants

Edited by gareth