Why become a member? ×

Backing Tracks - selected tracks?

ben604

We've been gigging about 8 months now, it's all going lovely but we want to expand out musical pallet, as it were. So we want to start playing with some backing tracks for songs with a bit of piano/strings etc

Can you download backing tracks with everything apart from the usual drums, bass, guitars and vocals? OR

Could/would we download MIDI tracks and run them through my MACBOOK Pro with Logic9 as the sounds are pretty decent?

What's the general consensus? I want us to attempt Bohemian Rhapsody haha!

[quote name='Dave Vader' post='1232942' date='May 16 2011, 12:39 PM']Ah, see your point sir.
Can anyone stepwrite the parts into a midi sequencing software type thingy? Or do it with a midi guitar?[/quote]

Yeah, I figured that might be our only option. I was just seeing how others went about it.

To be fair, I work in a school, so I might be able to convince our music teacher to lay down a basic track into Logic then have a fiddle with it at home to get it how we want it.

I guess I wanted a quick and painless solution!

Cheers guys.

I've been in quite a few bands that have used pre-recorded/programmed backing, but it's always been part of the whole band sound from the outset rather than something that's been 'bolted on' afterwards.

Before you get onto how you are going to making your backing tracks the most important thing to do is check that your drummer is willing and able to play to a click track. It's surprising how many seemingly competent drummers go to pieces when they are no longer the one dictating the time keeping.

Also consider how you are going to supply the click track to the drummer, and what you are going to do in order to keep in sync with the backing when there are no drums. Do not assume that you will be able to play in time to just the backing unless it contains a dominant rhythmic percussive element and your on-stage monitoring is excellent.