Why become a member? ×

Calling Fender experts.

FlatEric

Hi.

Hoping someone can help me on dating an instrument.

The only Fender USA stuff I have is the "P" in question, a '72 Jazz
and a much later fretless, so I am no expert!

[url="http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=109007"]A WhatyearFender??[/url]

I could bore you rigid on T-40's and other stuff but when it comes to this issue,
I am a little in the dark.

I bought it from a guy who had bought it from the original owner, in the early nineties.
I have had it about 3 years. He thought it was a 78/79 but to be honest I think he was more
into playing the thing than wanting to know when it's birthday was - it looked tidy enough
so I had it - it was one to tick off the list :)

So, Fender experts, when was this old fella born??

Cheers. :)

Actually I'm not sure there's much more to add to your for sale thread. The volume pot seems to date to 1980 and the tone looks like 1981 (it's a bit hard to see the last digit in the shots). Assuming both the pots are original, it means your bass couldn't have been put together before 1981. So a build date of 81 would seem most likely, though of course the body and neck could well have been crafted before that.

[quote name='RhysP' post='1055881' date='Dec 12 2010, 11:56 AM']"S" prefix starting with a 9 puts it at mid 1980 at the earliest - more likely to be sometime in 1981.[/quote]

Actually, S9***** is a much wider period than that. It could be anywhere from late 78 to 81 - see the info on the Fender website here: [url="http://www.fender.com/support/usa_instruments.php"]http://www.fender.com/support/usa_instruments.php[/url]

Edited by simon1964

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' post='1056241' date='Dec 12 2010, 05:37 PM']Am I having Dejavu or has this all been covered in the FS link thread? Looks really nice BTW! MMmmm[/quote]