Why become a member? ×

First Stack, Help!

PhoenixBass1

Hey everyone. I've been playing bass for a couple of years now through a very old, often crackly 60w combo.
My band have recently started gigging and I need something that will hold its own on stage.
Up until a couple of days ago I knew nothing about bass amps but I've been doing my research and I understand the whole watts and ohms issue. Although I'm still not sure how much power I will need and I don't wish to spend fortunes as it will be my first stack. In the next couple of days I'm planning on going to a couple of local music shops and trying a few rigs, but I can't try everything so it'd be helpful if people could suggest good first time stacks.
Currently I've gauged that something like a Laney RB9 would be a good starting point or maybe the Ashdown Mag 300h Evo II. I assume these will generate enough power for my needs when paired with an average 4x10" cab, but advice would be very helpful, thanks. (Sorry for the essay)

[quote name='JMT3781' post='847820' date='May 25 2010, 07:25 PM']hi there
my first stack was a laney r4, which was the fore runner to the rb9

one worth considering is the ashton all valve head, its 300w valve and is fairly cheap..

whats your budget ?[/quote]

Is that the BTA 300 hybrid you're talking about? Because that's way out of my price range lol.
Budget wise I don't think I'd buy a head for more than £300ish, the main reason being I'm only 17 and money doesn't come easily :)
To be honest I don't think a valve amp would interest me mainly because although the tone is amazing, I don't think it's worth the hundreds of pounds more, especially when i'm fighting to be heard over the guitarist.