Why become a member? ×

Vintage Fender help...

Jesso

[attachment=38350:pbass_na..._smaller.jpg][attachment=38349:Pbass_na..._smaller.jpg]

Hey folks,
Just looking for a bit of help with this...
I'm going to look at this bass tonight with a view to maybe buying it.
It's advertised as a 73 and all original.
I suspect it's not all original, but I'm pretty sure the owner thinks that it is (i.e. I don't think he's trying to pull the wool over my eyes)

From what I can gather, a bass of this era should have come with a white pickguard, or maybe a black, but not a tort.
Also, it looks like alder, which means its a refin.... it should be ash?
I'm no expert though, and any tips about what I should be looking for are most appreciated!
These pictures are the ones he's sent me so far.

Thanks,
:)

[quote name='wateroftyne' post='685227' date='Dec 15 2009, 02:32 PM']They still had torts in '73, but.. that one ain't original. It's a repro.

I'm fairly sure natural wasn't a stock colour in '73, too.[/quote]

Thanks guys,
How can you tell its a repro guard?
Could it have been a custom colour?

[quote name='Jesso' post='685232' date='Dec 15 2009, 02:36 PM']Thanks guys,
How can you tell its a repro guard?
Could it have been a custom colour?[/quote]

The original tort they used back then isn't available any more.. it's redder and has 'depth' to it. The repro stuff is brown-er and 'sharper' than the original.Some would suggest the repro guards look like pepperoni....

Custom colour? A peek in the neck pocket or control cavities might give a clue, but IMO... nah. It's stripped.

[quote name='wateroftyne' post='685227' date='Dec 15 2009, 02:32 PM']They still had torts in '73, but.. that one ain't original. It's a repro.

I'm fairly sure natural wasn't a stock colour in '73, too.[/quote]

Agree with the above - the plate is a 3-ply one so obviously repro.

Reckon it's a 'strip down' so popular in the mid to late 70s.