Why become a member? ×

Markbass Combo Settings - Help!

spongebob

I recently bought a Markbass 121P, the 300w 12" combo.

It's twice the power of my old Trace (on paper), and sounds fab.

However.....a couple of times, using it even only for pub gigs, I have struggled to get as much power as I expected.

Last night, I had the volume on 3/4, everything else pretty much at 12 o'clock except for the VPF at 3 o'clock, and the VLF set at about 1/4 high.

I'm really no expert, so would appreciate any help on how to get the best sound and power from it!

Last night I was using my Fender Jazz Geddy, but my sound lacked any bottom end, and just got totally lost in the mix. I like the clang, of course, but a bit of bass would be good! :)

I'm playing again this afternoon, so any ideas will be tried with immediate effect!! :rolleyes:

Try placing your combo in a solid wall corner, that should help with your lack of lowend.

Still, dont expect miracles from a single 12" speaker, specially if you play at loud volumes.

VPF at 3 o'clock is way too much IME. That is dampening mid frequencies a lot, precisely the kind of frequencies that combo can reproduce efficiently. My VPF is always at 7 o'clock (thats completely off). Also, getting lost in the mix as you said usually happens when your bass is lacking mid frequencies badly. Thats were you usually find definition in the bass tone.

Edited by Fraktal

the thing is that maybe because you put the combo on the floor you dont listen to it to much and you dont feel it as it should.. Maybe if you put it on a chair or get the little stand [url="http://www.thomann.de/gr/markbass_mark_stand.htm"]http://www.thomann.de/gr/markbass_mark_stand.htm[/url] you get what you want

Try something else in the soundcheck take everyting flat and then increase the eq. Leave the filtres at the end

if that dosent work which i think it will because i have the same problem i want to listern the bass more than anything else near to my amp...