Why become a member? ×

Looking to invest

cris the man

I've been fortunate enough for one of my savings bonds to mature! I should in november, be entitled to £1900. I was thinking... new bass? new rig?
As my ipod shuffled onto tool, i thought it'd be time i invested in some effects.

Im not very experienced in this field at all, so i'll need some help on what to buy.
I was thinking a wah pedal, A sans amp DI box, A chromatic Tuner ( thinking boss), An envelope filter, Boss OC3, Tremolo (not sure which model to go into there) and maybe an EQ pedal.

I'll also need a good power system and perhaps a board.

any thoughts and recommendations are welcome :)

I agree with cheddatom. Multieffects could be much cheaper and give you an idea of what you like/don't like. Then if you want to go down the stompbox route it's a case of buying individual chorus/overdrive/wah etc. after selling the multieffects unit, if you want to.

The Line 6 Bass Floor Pod is outstanding, but leans more towards amp modeling than effects patches.

That said, here are my personal recomendations for your individual pedals -

Wah - Dunlop 105Q - I've been through an Ibanez Weeping Demon, and Morely PBA I and II looking for the perfect bass wah. I love this pedal, it has a little tone suck, but it's not too bad.

Sansamp is a good choice, although if you're not too worried about the DI element look into the VT Bass - similar but more 'old school' tones.

Tuner - I wouldn't go for the boss, I currently have it and am looking to buy the Korg Pitchback soon instead. It's advantages over the Boss are - smaller, cheaper, more accurate (arguably), true bypass, and cooler looking :)

Envelope Filter - Very much personal choice on that one, but think about if you need both a wah and an envelope filter, some people find the two together slightly redundant.